Edible Sputnik

20170805_181926

There is a Rose who has shown up several times in this blog. She is one of the most wonderful people I’ve ever met, hands down. She is kind, compassionate, has a great laugh, and can manage to encourage a person to do something even when they are not sure they want to! She has been paramount in introducing me to new things. The latest introduction was something even more dubious than the mushroom (which I still don’t care for).

In researching a baggie of sliced white sections, I learned it had a nick name of sputnik. Outer space in the home garden. I’ll be jiggered! I read about how to prepare it and was pleasantly surprised. It was delicious!!!!! I had it roasted and raw and if I had not had it brought to me, I would have missed out on a very special vegetable. I know I’d never have purchased one on my own. The outer design would have stumped me, even before I managed to get into it.

So, two blessings. Thank you, Rose, for bringing to my world something totally out of my norm. Kohlrabi is super yummy!

Leave a Reply

