Lethal and lovely

IMG_6410 Had a pair of these on the lake today and decided to do some research. I knew they were predators, I didn’t know how incredible they were. Their lethal beauty hides a fierce protectiveness and powerful ability to survive. When they kill other avian species, they often spear into the oppositions liver or heart with their formidable beaks. They defend their babies, their nesting spots, and have been known to chase off large fish. The loon isn’t agile on land, but in water, they are poetry. I was able to get really close to them in the kayak today. (it looks further in camera view, but I think I was about 2 kayak lengths away!) What a blessing I was given when I went out on the lake-I thought we had one loon visiting and there were two!!!!

20170610_191304

Leave a Reply

