Something New

img_5248

Every day I think, ‘Omg, I could never do that!’ or ‘how do I do that?’ And then, I discover I can do it. I’ve learned to change mom’s ileostomy fittings and empty the bags. I’ve learned how to manage oxygen concentraters and reload oxygen bottles. I’ve learned how to forgive a person for years of difficult parenting. I’ve learned how to put the little cannula needles from an insulin pump into a body successfully. I’ve learned to remember to plug in a car and start it when it is so very cold to make sure it still runs. I’ve learned how to believe I can go beyond what I think I can do. Today? I learned how to make an egg custard.

Sounds simple, right? Well, not according to the varied reviews. I wanted something mom could eat easily. It is also my dad’s birthday, so I wanted something more festive than applesauce or fruit cocktail. She had several in the hospital, so I figured it was worth a shot. I read the directions, called a friend for ingredients I didn’t have and a container, compiled the stuff, and it worked! I was pretty impressed. It isn’t quite like the stuff mom ate at Providence, but it was my first custard! However, it was enjoyed and it slipped down perfectly fine. Happy win!

 

Leave a Reply

