Layers

img_5230

Such a great line from the movie, ‘Shrek’. “No. Layers. Onions have layers. Ogres have layers. Onions have layers. You get it? We both have layers.” Onions, ogres, parfaits, and caregiving are all things with layers. Watching each layer of my mom peel or melt away is sobering, yet it is a blessing. To be able to be a part of someone’s journey onto the final bridges of life has got to be one of the greatest things another can do. I am so thankful I am here to do this with  mum.

I don’t know how long this ‘bridge’ is. I do not know how to help her as much as I’d like to. I do know she needs to keep as much of her independence as possible. She looks like she needs pain meds and yet, refuses them. She is so tired and remains so involved. She has trouble with her projects, but soldiers on. Mum is a fighter. A survivor. A woman of layers. Often, I have seen more of the ogre side of mum. It is a parent/kid thing! I see her more as a parfait, today.

So many fascinating things I’ve learned about the amazing woman who is my mum need remembered. I have been scribbling them down, writing them in docs on my laptop, to keep them for later. Not the person I know, but the person I am discovering.

 

2 thoughts on “Layers

Leave a Reply

