Not sleeping

go_dog_go

This book is one of those kid books I still have portions of memorized. We also had it on VHS. One of the rhymes mentions that ‘Now it is night. Night is  not a time for play. It is time for sleep. The dogs go to sleep. They will sleep all night.’ I must admit, being a night person, I always had a hard time with these 2 pages. My boys did, too.

I went out on the lake tonight. I sat in the middle of a black mirror with stars rippling in the wake of my kayak and was enchanted. I heard a dog barking, for most of the time I was out there–it was definitely NOT asleep! I heard an owl or two, I saw black shapes speed past (am pretty sure they were the owls I heard), I saw meteors, and spikes of notherns as they danced briefly, and could not imagine a better place to be in the early hours of October 1.

I’m fortunate to be in a place of such utter beauty and peace (except for that dog!). I love having a chance to kayak on a placid lake, to not be responsible for anything except my mom and myself, and to enjoy being. Yup, I am a blessed woman!

Leave a Reply

