Talk to the Trees

Clint Eastwood sang (yeah, he really did: ‘Paint your Wagon’) about how the trees didn’t listen when he talked to them. I am pretty sure these two listen to me. The tall tree man with the floppy nose has been a confidant for awhile now. I go out in the kayak and stop to tell him how things are going. He watches the lake in the changing seasons, follows the new hatchings, watches the babies learn to fly, and gazes across the lake to the neighbor’s busy yard. He’s a great one to discuss things with. I found this little guy at his feet this summer. I was actually trying to take a picture of the empty hole and when I looked at it on the computer screen, I noticed a little stump man. I’m glad they are near each other, when I’m not around they can exchange thoughts. Or at least I can imagine they do!

They are lovely blessings and they never share the things I tell them.

Leave a Reply

