A little yellow…..

Plans change. After mom had her drive renovated by the septic guys, I needed a way to mark where to NOT drive or park. I used a can or bright orange paint on two tires and it wasn’t efficient. It was suggested I use exterior can pant. At a well known less expensive store, I searched for orange. It wasn’t going well. The paint was expensive and I was annoyed with myself. I should have gone to a hardware store. The guy in charge of paints noticed I was frustrated and asked if he could help. He did. He found me a $7 gallon of white, he couldn’t add color to it because white IS a color and he wasn’t allowed to dump out some to make room for tint. What he did, however, was incredible. He suggested I use yellow, gave me a partial of yellow tint (I used it all, white is not as easy to color as you might think!!), and told me how to use it. I was completely amazed by this unexpected blessing.

I slapped on the paint (the tires needed colored, they didn’t need to be pretty!) and made a bit of a mess. Thankfully, water based paint exists! I was hoping to do the bottoms of the tires today, but it started to rain AND some of the paint is still wet. I prefer my yellows in daffodils and flowers, but this was a good choice. It is bright, cheerful, and matches the house. As I applied the paint and stirred in bugs, who insisted on landing in it, I kept remembering a line from one of my all time favorite movies, ‘Mr. Blandings Builds his Dream House.’ Myrna Loy and Cary Grant. A good book and an excellent movie.

” I’d like yellow. Not just yellow; a very gay yellow. Something bright and sunshine-y. I tell you, Mr. PeDelford, if you’ll send one of your men to the grocer for a pound of their best butter, and match that exactly, you can’t go wrong!”

Leave a Reply

