Shapes

IMG_4052 Another one of Jon’s pictures. I love shapes. They make our world more fun. I always complain about Eastern Oregon’s flatness and boring terrain. But, it isn’t true. Usually. There are hills, valleys, slopes, rock formations, creatures, and things which bring contour to this area.

I remember a poem from when I was a kid called ‘The Land of Counterpane’ by Robert L. Stevenson. I never have forgotten how a body can create a world in a bed. All around me there are hills and dales and flat open spaces full of life. People, animals, trees, wheat, and peas. I’m definitely blessed by the infinite shapes I see around about me.

‘I was the giant great and still
That sits upon the pillow-hill,
And sees before him, dale and plain,
The pleasant land of counterpane.’ RLS- ‘The Land of Counterpane’

Leave a Reply

