Cocoa!

IMG_2016 Cocoa Spice Snack Cake                        Bake 350 for 25-30 min

1/4 cup melted butter or margarine; 1/4 cup baking cocoa; 3/4 cup applesauce.  In small bowl, mix the first two ingredients together until smooth, stir in applesauce.

In larger bowl, mix together 1 cup flour; 1 cup white granulated sugar; 3/4 tsp baking soda; 1/2 tsp cinnamon; 1/4 tsp nutmeg; and 1/4 tsp salt.

Add wet ingredients and 1 slightly beaten egg to the dry mixture. Stir until moistened. Spread into 8×8 greased pan. Bake until tooth pick inserted in center comes out clean. Sprinkle cooled cake with powdered sugar.

NOTE: I always add about a 1/3 of a cup of mini chocolate chips to the batter. The original recipe had, I think raisins and chopped walnuts. The ensuing product is sticky and goes very well with vanilla ice cream…or your fingers!

If you follow this blog, you might have discovered I like to cook. It is more than cooking. I love to take obscure ingredients and create something so toe curling edible, you can’t breathe. Actually, that sentence kind of reads like one in Arsenic and Old Lace. Nope, I want you to be happy when you see me arrive with treats. Sharing treats is one of my favorite blessings.

Above is a horrid photo of one of my absolute favorite snack cakes. Oddly, I cannot find it anywhere on the web. I copied it down from a cookbook. Not sure if it was Hershey or Nestle, but it was a tiny book with a big name on it. This particular cake is a favorite because it mixes fruits of labor with spices. The applesauce in this cake was made from apples from the neighbor’s tree. I have also used pear sauce, but it tends to make the cake a bit gritty. (I have way too many pears in my yard!)

Leave a Reply

