Chocolate and Chicken Soup

IMG_1882.JPG

I really can’t find much of a blessing in being sick. This has gone on and on and on. I feel great for 3 days and then get a low fever, sore ears, or something for 4. Ridiculous. Yet, my family still needs fed. Today, I made chicken noodle soup out of leftovers from last night. They said it was really good, I couldn’t taste it. Which was sort of sad. It had garlic in it. I hope it helps me get better! Before I made the soup, I made Fudge Bars. I thought about putting the dough and chocolate goo in a mini muffin tin and it worked well. It was entirely too fiddly, but it worked and, as the kid said, they were easy to eat! I got the recipe from a friend. My blessing today was remembering Tracy.

RECIPE: Cookie part– 1 cup softened butter/marg (I added a 1/4 cup of creamy PB, too); 2 cups of brown sugar, packed; 2 eggs; 1 tsp vanilla extract; 1 tsp salt; 1tsp baking soda; 3 cups oatmeal; and 2 1/2 cups flour. Mix and pat 2/3 of this into a 9×13 pan in a ‘crust’ sort of shape. Filling part– 12 oz semi sweet chocolate chips; 1 can sweetened condensed milk; 2 TB butter/marg; 1/2 tsp salt;  and 1 tsp vanilla extract. Melt together on low heat. When combined, spread on cookie layer in pan to edges. Drop remaining cookie dough on top of fudge layer. Bake 350 degrees for 25 minutes.  (I usually make a mess and flatten the dough with my fingers before dropping it on the fudge, I think it spreads better—)

Leave a Reply

