The Doctor

drseuss1

This man changed my life more than any other human being alive or dead. I was 5 or 6 when I first ran across a book by him. It opened my eyes to the world. It was a blue book and I wanted to read it. I had no idea what most of the words were, I was only in kindergarten. The illustrations fascinated me and I needed to know how all those black letters fit in. I was the oldest, I was in school, and I was determined. My sister and I were often left alone and told not to leave the house. This, I think, was part of the catalyst to discover the Doctor. I didn’t have much else to do besides babysit.

The book ‘To Think I Saw it on Mulberry Street‘ inspired me to learn to read. I’ve never looked back. Words color my world and shape my existence. I believe humans are made up of the experiences and people they  have met. For me, many of my experiences and people are in books of different kinds. I truly believe the person I am today was given form by Theodor Geisel.

March 2 is a day I always celebrate in some form or other. The Dr who helped birth me in February and kept me alive isn’t near as important as this particular Doctor.  The man who blessed me with the discovery of words. Happy Birthday, Dr. Suess!

Leave a Reply

