A gift that almost wasn’t

Wizard of Oz-01
Tony as the Lion in ‘The Wizard of Oz’

Today my blessing prompt was to look for a gift that almost wasn’t. I didn’t have to look very far. My eldest son, Tony is my gift that almost wasn’t. He wasn’t planned. I was an out of control Diabetic young person. I was clueless (well, most new to be parents are!). I was told my baby might have health issues, an option might be to abort the baby, and the pregnancy was sure to have complications.

NONE of that came true. I had an easy pregnancy, Tony was a normal sized baby (a bit over 6 pounds), he was born FAST (just a few hours from start to finish), and I am so thankful I didn’t give up on him before he had a chance to shine. I love this kid. He was involved in so many things growing up (band, community and HS drama, assorted choirs, and scouting), he was a joy (usually–he did have those black moods every so often!) to raise. He ended up in the Army and is now doing more wonderful things in his life on the East coast. I look at him and think when I was his age (almost 27) he was in preschool!

I am so blessed by my incredible gift from God! Hearing Tony’s voice when he calls is one of the best things that can happen in my day. I learned so many things having him as my son–sewing costumes, learning about drums, enjoying that a boy could play flute, sharing books, being a scout leader, doing backstage stuff for theatre, and cooking and having a home for parties. I am so glad I made the choice to keep Tony, my life is fuller because of him.

One thought on “A gift that almost wasn’t

  1. How absolutely precious, Kristen. The way you speak about your grown up baby boy is lovely and endearing. I’m so happy for you that you trusted your mother’s heart and female instincts instead of listening to those doctors! Fear also comes by hearing and they should have zipped it! Look at all you would have missed out on!! You are a true Proverbs 31 woman, Kris. You’re an example to all of us what all a godly mom and wife can be. ♡

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

