I honor you.

ajgunnerytony

He is my son. My oldest son. In this photo he was 19. Too young for Iraq and the place he was in. When I held that tiny baby less than two decades before, I had no idea he’d watch flaming balls heading for  his camp on his birthday or know his Staff Sgt was killed from an IED. I knew he was going to be amazing. Every mom hopes that as they cradle their child. I wish I could have kept him from overseas military encounters, but he enjoyed military history and wanted to be a part of it. Today, he is much older, wiser, and working across the US. I am incredibly proud of my son. I am very thankful I never became a gold star mom. I am glad to know he survived when so many died in vain. Every time the phone rings today and I hear his voice, I am blessed. And no matter how old this kid gets, “I’ll love you forever, I’ll like you for always, as long as I’m living, my baby you’ll be.” (Robert Munsch)

Leave a Reply

