first snow

IMG_0596

The photo without flash didn’t show much, but once I added light–Wow! SNOW!! I love the first snowfall. I miss summer clothes (I actually still have many of them with me!) and decided I was only staying in Alaska til the snow fell. My plane leaves mid October. I love this part of winter, but these were big fat wet flakes that followed the Dan Fogerty song and turned to rain quickly. There is something magical in the first snow, returning with the one that finally sticks. All over the state tonight we have record snowfall. It is really exciting when you remember how hot things were just a few months ago when the state was on fire. This is my blessing for today! Fluffy worlds illuminated, making dozens of tiny lights. This afternoon was really dark, I appreciated these shining blessings.

Leave a Reply

