Color

IMG_0411

Alaskan autumns are explosions of color. I can hear the rain pouring outside, as I type, and I know the color will soon be washed away. Everything will fade to browns and grey and dark greens. Short and fast the world retreats in a symphony of staccato reds and golds. Yet, in the states (what Alaskans call the rest of the US), fall has barely touched the earth in many places. They are still waiting for the hues announcing the change of seasons. Growing up in Alaska, I never understood fall. It is one of my favorite seasons in Oregon. It is a blessing to know I’ll get to have two seasons of autumn this year. I guess I’m just lucky that way!

Leave a Reply

