Moonlight

file00088715524

Remember these words? They are from a child lullaby. “I see the moon, the moon sees me. God bless the moon and God bless me.”

Tonight as I walked on the dirt road I was seeking the moon. It was rising and I wanted to watch it. It was sort of dark and I was keeping my eyes on my feet, when suddenly I was bathed in light. I had walked into moonlight coming through a gap in the trees. I was mesmerized! What I had been looking for was right beside me. Too often I look down at the frustrating things in life and think I’ll find the stars or moon. I may see their reflections, but to sight the real things, I need to keep my eyes ahead and up. Up where I can watch for those gaps in the trees that open a way for the blessing of the shining full moon.

Leave a Reply

