lake breeze

IMG_9441

Drifting in the kayak, I could hear a breeze approaching the lake through the trees. I could see the leaves start to move and chatter far off in the distance and as the wind came closer, so did the voices of birch and spruce and cottonwood. If I could only understand what they were saying! Their uncanny lilting momentarily drowned out the various birds and buzzing dragonflies. I suddenly was bounced back into the moment as the sounds clamored around me and woke the lake into dancing ripples. I lifted the paddle, steering out of the weeds along the shore and back into the deeper waters.

Leave a Reply

